YouTube's new cleanup option could save your channel from getting terminated
by Timi Cantisano · Android PoliceYouTube can be a great space, offering access to some of the best creators in the world. However, its rules aren't always so clear, and we've seen creators get their content flagged for no apparent reason. Of course, when things are blatant, it's up to the creator to clean up the channel in order to abide by YouTube's content guidelines. That said, the brand is now experimenting with "cleanup options for terminated channels."
Add Android Police on Google Add as Preferred Source
This could really go somewhere
YouTube tends to take swift action against channels with "violative content," which can really catch folks off guard. One day, they're plugging away making new content; the next, their YouTube channel is locked, and the creator can't get answers from the support team.
We've seen this play out time and time again, with creators complaining on social media over unjust actions. Now, YouTube is trialing a system that will allow some channels to clear out their content to get their channel back online. YouTube shared this news on its Help page, giving some creators a new path.
"A new option for creators facing immediate termination due to certain Spam policy violations. Instead of immediate channel termination, eligible channels will now have the opportunity to self-correct, edit, or remove the violative content." How this works is that those eligible will be notified through "email and in YouTube Studio on desktop."
Related
I disabled YouTube Shorts; now I feel like I can breathe again
Return your YouTube feed to the pre-TikTok era with this simple setting change
Posts 2
By Calvin Wankhede
These channels will have 30 days to make changes. Creators can either fix flagged videos with the Studio Editor or just delete the videos that are problematic. Creators also have a more drastic option: deleting all videos on their channel. This might sound extreme, but it could be for channels with a ton of violative videos.
It would be too time-consuming to make the changes. So this makes it quick and easy to get back up and running. YouTube shares that if this option is selection, it will "immediately unlock" the channel. The last option is to submit an appeal for the content. Once the content "passes review" YouTube states that the channel will be unlocked.
Naturally, "failing to address the issues within 30 days, or taking no action, will lead to channel termination." That's a fate no YouTuber wants to experience. By saving the channel, the creator can, maintain their "subscribers, channel handle, and YPP status."
Over the past couple of years, YouTube has made it more challenging for creators to get paid. The requirements are higher and the pay is lower than what it used to be. If you're a creator trying to make it to the big show, you've got a lot of challenges ahead of you.